I Know Monsters, Part I (a Poem in Progress)

Monsters killed a child today.

You glimpsed them slicked with blood.

You shrieked your standard curse in pain…

You spat your words in mud.

There may have been a note that mourns,

A sound to hold the pain…

There may have been a word that scorns,

Could count a wound as gain…

There may have been a mother who

Wept her chorus of tears…

There may have been a father who

Could say a theme on fears…

Their cries are silenced with vices.

You beg your turn in grief.

You know how monsters feed crises.

A mask that veils a thief…

Perhaps that mask is on my face?

Where else that sense without?  

You turned to me without a tear

(You turned with shaded doubt).

No plea can cut a monster’s fang 

No curse could shut its eye.

You had to ask of something true

You had to ask me why.

You had to ask to render wrong 

A prayer I’d spent today.

You had to ask before too long

What monsters had to say.

What monsters say I used to know

But dreams since killed that hurt.

I learned an art to lay them low 

For dreams stain much like dirt.

You know there is no hurt I hold 

That children could reveal.

I stroke a beast that haunts the cold 

A dream that learned to feel…

But…

But…

But I know what monsters look like.

They’re not quite what you think… 

They have no roots in earth or blood 

They rise full-formed from ink.

And I know what demons dream of.

They twist the strength you seek.

You cry your sorrow in slumber,

They hear when you’re most weak. 

And I know what sinners speak through…

A sight as much as sound.

When the dancing revives the song

Ensures the words are bound…

The threads will wind around the sense

You’ll fail to catch the spell.

I know what monsters sound like.

I’m trilling what they tell. 

Leave a comment